Global Site Navigation (use tab and down arrow)

Giving to UNB

The Arthur and Sandra Irving Primrose Scholarship

Former and current Primrose Scholars gathered at the home of Arthur and Sandra Irving (front row, far left) for the 2019 annual luncheon.

"University of New Brunswick Saint John Primrose Scholars continue to make the world a better place."
- Sandra Irving

The Arthur and Sandra Irving Primrose Scholars at the University of New Brunswick (UNB) have gone on to become outstanding doctors, engineers, nurses, scientists, business leaders, entrepreneurs and artists in New Brunswick and across the country. They are a community of scholars who serve as important mentors and inspire others.

UNB in Saint John welcomes high school students to apply for the Arthur and Sandra Irving Primrose Scholarship. The four-year renewable scholarship is valued at $40,000 ($10,000 annually) in support of students attending UNB Saint John for their undergraduate education.

The scholarship, designed to support students entering their first year at UNB Saint John, recognizes academic achievement, community involvement and athletic leadership. It was established by UNB Saint John alumna Sandra Irving (BA'95), who spearheaded the initial fundraising activities to first award the scholarship in 2000.

Arthur and Sandra Irving renewed their commitment to the Arthur and Sandra Irving Primrose Scholarship in 2016 with a $2 million gift. Arthur and Sandra are involved in the selection of the recipients and develop long lasting relationships with the scholars who they invite to the Primrose Scholars Luncheon at their home each summer. The Primrose Scholars have a strong networking community and stay in touch with each other long after their time at UNB Saint John.

2022 recipients

Kiersten Hamilton of Boom Road is a graduate of Miramichi Valley High School. An avid athlete, Hamilton played high school hockey, volleyball, field hockey, and track and field. Among her volunteer endeavours are coaching minor hockey and working at a local senior’s complex.

She is enrolled in the bachelor of health program at UNB Saint John.

Morgan Haslett of Saint John is a graduate of Centre scolaire Samuel-de-Champlain, where she was a member of the student council and the grad class committee. Outside of school, Haslett has represented Team NB in speed skating, sailing, and triathlon. She volunteers as an instructor with the Saint John Amateur Speed Skating Club.

She is enrolled in the bachelor of health program at UNB Saint John.

Katelyn LeBlanc of West Quaco graduated as valedictorian of Simonds High School, where she was co-president of the student council. In addition to various clubs and activities, LeBlanc played high school volleyball, softball and hockey. She volunteers as a caretaker of the West Quaco Cemetery.

She is enrolled in UNB Saint John’s bachelor of health program.

Fredericton’s Ava Yerxa is a graduate of Fredericton High School, where she was involved with numerous clubs, including the positive action committee. She has volunteered with the Fredericton Botanic Garden and Greener Village and participated for several years in competitive dance.

She is enrolled in UNB Saint John's bachelor of health program.

Ruhamma Zaheeb of Saint John graduated from Harbour View High School, where she was vice-president of the grad class executive and editor of the yearbook. Leader of her school’s climate action club, she was also co-president of the school’s chapter of Best Buddies, an international organization promoting friendships and inclusion. Among her numerous volunteer organizations are the NB Youth Voice Committee, Hillcrest Village seniors’ centre, and the Imagine NB advisory committee.

Ruhamma is enrolled in the bachelor of health program at UNB Saint John.

How to apply

To apply for this scholarship, please submit:

  • A cover letter requesting consideration
  • A resume emphasizing extracurricular activities
  • Your latest high school transcript
  • A 500-word essay on "How would this scholarship make a difference in your life?"

Submit your application by March 1, either by mail or email. Due to Covid-19 restrictions, emailing your application is preferred.

By mail: The Arthur and Sandra Irving Primrose Scholarship, c/o Student Recruitment, UNB Saint John, PO Box 5050, Saint John NB, E2L 4L5

By email:

Contact us

For questions about The Arthur and Sandra Irving Primrose Scholarship, contact us at 1-877-SJFORME (753-6763) or

Other resources