Global Site Navigation (use tab and down arrow)

Giving to UNB

Beaverbrook Scholars Award

2022-2023 Beaverbrook Scholarship Recipients
Vera Chen, Carlie Rogers and Analissa Salmon

The University of New Brunswick is proud to announce the 2023 recipients of the Beaverbrook Scholars Award, rewarding New Brunswick’s most exceptional students for their academic abilities and community involvement. This year's recipients are Vera ChenCarlie Rogers and Analissa Salmon.

The Beaverbrook Scholars Award is valued at $50,000 over four years and is awarded to outstanding New Brunswick high school graduates pursuing undergraduate degree programs at UNB. Since 1981 the scholarship has provided over $3.25 million in student support.

Vera Chen

Vera Chen of New Maryland is a student at Fredericton High School. Vera is a Canada Wide Science Fair medalist, New Brunswick Brain Bee champion, and SHAD alumna; she is also an avid musician with grade 10 music history and harmony certification from the Royal Conservatory of Music. She plays violin in her school’s string band and is on the executive of the school’s emergency response team. Among her many volunteer endeavours is the founding of a non-profit, Music 4 Youth, which hosts music workshops for young people with an emphasis on under-represented groups, including girls and minority and LGBTQ+ youth. Her efforts were rewarded with a New Brunswick VIVE Youth Champion award in 2022. Vera is also a recipient of the 2021 Vimy Pilgrimage Award and president of Youth of New Brunswick. She will begin a bachelor of science degree program on UNB’s Fredericton campus in September.

Carlie Rogers

Carlie Rogers of Quispamsis is a student at Kennebecasis Valley High School, where she is student body president and captain of the senior field hockey team. Carlie is a competitive dancer and three-time highest-mark winner in musical theatre solo competition. She works part-time teaching dance to younger children and leads the dance team at her school. Among her volunteer experience is work as a peer tutor, volunteer dance instructor, and assisting at a church summer camp. Carlie will begin a bachelor of science in engineering degree program on UNB’s Fredericton campus in September.

Analissa Salmon

Analissa Salmon of Oromocto attends Oromocto High School. Analissa is a member of the grad class committee and badminton team and an executive member of her school's multicultural committee and its Black, Indigenous and People of Colour (BIPOC) committee. She has made numerous contributions to enhance her school and local community, including helping to organize her school's first senior citizen social, working with the residents of a local nursing home, and tutoring her fellow students, for which she was named OHS’s  Student of the Month. Analissa will begin a bachelor of science degree program on UNB's Fredericton campus in September.

Rose He on how the Beaverbrook Scholars Award impacted her first year.

How to apply

The Beaverbrook Scholars Award, created and maintained by former Beaverbrook Scholars, is awarded to outstanding graduates of New Brunswick high schools who display high academic ability, financial need and make outstanding contributions to their communities.

A total of three Beaverbrook Scholars Awards valued at $50,000 each ($12,500 per year for 4 years) will be awarded.

Apply for UNB Scholarships, including the Beaverbrook Scholars Award.