Global Site Navigation (use tab and down arrow)

Back to Computer Science

Programming competitions

We participate in programming competitions for current students throughout the year. We also host competitions in English for middle and high school students from New Brunswick and often partner with Université de Moncton, which hosts equivalent competitions in French.

Science Atlantic CS Competition

Science Atlantic (formerly APICS) is a charitable association of 18 post secondary and research institutes in Atlantic Canada with a mandate to advance science education and research at the undergraduate level. 

Every year, the Computer Science Committee of Science Atlantic has hosted the Atlantic Canadian Programming Contest (ACPC). For many years, it was a round of the ICPC Programming Contest. Starting in Fall 2020, the ACPC is no longer an ICPC event, but can serve as an important warmup - our students can now directly compete in the Northeastern North American Round, with or without having particpated in the ACPC.


NB High School Programming Competition

 Thursday, April 28, 2022 (9 a.m. - 12:30pm)

Open to all New Brunswick high school students (grades 9-12), the NB High School Programming Competition is hosted every year to promote the development of programming clubs and skills at the high school level.

This year, the event will be hosted virtually, rather than in person. Individuals or pairs will compete at their high schools under the supervision of a staff member, and the Bill Davis trophy will be awarded.

Watch a video about the 2017 contest.

NB Scratch Programming Competition

The status of the NB Scratch Programming Competition is not known (to us) at this point.

Last contest: Saturday, June 8, 2019.  (conducted online due to the measles outbreak at that time)

The NB Scratch Programming Competition is run by Brilliant Labs and open to students up to grade 8. Schools hold a local contest and their best Scratch programs are sent for further judging. Then finalists are invited to UNB Saint John, where the winners are selected.