Transportation Group

The UNB Transportation Group is a research group in the Department of Civil Engineering for post-graduate studies in transportation. It is a multi-disciplinary group composed of faculty from both the engineering and economic departments, Emeritus Honorees, researchers, research assistants and graduate students.

Be Part of a Global Network

Since our inception in 1968, the Transportation Group has continually produced professionals to participate in all facets of the transportation industry. Our graduates are employed with government (federal, provincial, and municipal), railroad companies, trucking firms, transit operations, air operations, consulting firms, and many other related industries. During the past five decades, graduates have taken positions throughout Canada, the United States, as well as a host of other countries including the Dominican Republic, Trinidad and Tobago, Ghana, Jordan, Ethiopia, Egypt, India, and New Zealand.

Research that Matters

The program offered by the Transportation Group is multi-disciplinary and multi-modal in nature. The primary objective is to produce a well-rounded transportation professional. We focus on education rather than training; the latter being the responsibility of the industry sector which employs our graduates. A further objective of the Transportation Group is to provide for educational and research opportunities in support of regional and national transportation requirements.

Transportation engineering research is conducted in different areas in traffic, road safety and pavements. Considering the importance of transportation infrastructure, D.C. Campbell Chair is focused on highway construction and pavement research. For more information.

Celebrating the 50+ years of the Transportation Seminar Series

Recently, the UNB Transportation Group was awarded the ITS-STI Canada (Intelligent Transportation Systems Society of Canada) Group Member of the Year Distinguished Service Award for its 50+year commitment to hosting a Transportation Seminar Series for our graduate students and broader community. This series began in 1969 under founders Dr. Frank Wilson and Prof. Albert Stevens, while continuing under coordinators Barry Bisson P.Eng. (NB), Eric Hildebrand, and now Trevor Hanson.

Thank you to Nancy Lynch, former ITS Canada Board Member from New Brunswick for presenting us the award "in-person" during the virtual ceremony and to Michael Bailey for his support. The UNB Transportation Group and its members are strong believers of ITS in education and research.

From left to right, Eric Hildebrand, Yuri Yevdokimov, Xiomara Sanchez, Monica Wachowicz & Jim Christie (virtually), and Trevor Hanson (Coordinator)