The Fredericton and Saint John Senates are the academic governing bodies of the University and have responsibility for academic matters on their respective campuses as set out in the University of New Brunswick Act.

The Fredericton Senate has 73 members and Saint John Senate has 39 members. The membership of the Senates includes members of faculty and librarians, contract academic employees, students, alumni and members of administration. Administrative support for the Senates is provided by the University Secretariat.

Senate committees

The Senates function through a series of standing committees that include both separate committees specific to each Senate and common or joint committees where matters of common interest to both Senates are considered.

  • Academic Planning
  • Curriculum
  • Internationalization
  • Library
  • Nominating
  • Non-Credit Course
  • Senate Review
  • Student Services
  • Technology

  • Academic Planning & Resources
  • Curriculum
  • Honorary Degrees
  • Information Services & Systems
  • Nominating
  • Non-Credit Curriculum
  • Senate Review
  • Student Appeals
  • Student Life & Support Services

  • Academic Policy and Procedures
  • Student Standing & Promotions
  • Teaching Awards
  • Teaching Excellence and Policy
  • Undergraduate Scholarships

  • Admissions

Information for current students, staff and faculty

Use your UNB login to access more information on the Senate as well as meeting dates and minutes.

Log in to MyUNB