Scholarships | Drama | English | Faculty of Arts | UNB

Global Site Navigation (use tab and down arrow)

Faculty of Arts
UNB Fredericton

Back to Drama

Scholarships and prizes

The Drama program awards two Alvin J. Shaw scholarships annually.

The Alvin Shaw Memorial Scholarship in Theatre is awarded to an incoming first-year student enrolling in the drama minor.

The Alvin Shaw Memorial Scholarship in Drama Production is awarded to the student going on to do the minor who is judged most promising based on their performance in the first year of the program.

Both scholarships are worth $2,000 annually, for a total of $8,000 for the Shaw Scholarship in Theatre and up to $6,000 for the Shaw Scholarship in Drama Production. The scholarships are renewed annually based on satisfactory progress through the program.

The Alvin J. Shaw Prize in Theatre Arts ($600) is awarded annually to a top-performing third-year student completing either a major or minor in English in combination with either a double major, minor or a concentration in drama.

Drama students are also eligible for the Ben and Millie Guss Scholarship, awarded to students in various fine arts disciplines.