Our Staff

Dr. Kenneth B. Kent

Dr. Kenneth Kent obtained his Ph.D. from the University of Victoria (Victoria, Canada) in 2003, his M.Sc. from the same in 1999, and his B.Sc. Hons. from Memorial University (Newfoundland, Canada) in 1996. Since 2002, he has been a faculty member at the University of New Brunswick (Fredericton, Canada). Dr. Kent’s research interests include hardware/software co-design, reconfigurable computing, embedded systems, and software engineering. Dr. Kent has completed significant research on Java virtual machine technology including the use of distributed computing and dedicated hardware to accelerate Java execution, the basis of his MSC and PhD thesis respectively. Recently, Dr. Kent has worked on improving the execution of the Java Virtual Machine in Multicore environments focusing on such issues as garbage collection, multitenancy, and reducing startup times. Dr. Kent has also been working on an open-source CAD flow for programming Field Programmable Gate Arrays. Verilog-to-routing is used world wide by many academics and industry experts to include collaborators such as Huawei and Google. His work has contributed to significant industrial collaborations, supervising over 50 graduate students to completion, 3 patents and over 120 publications in refereed journals and conference proceedings.

Dr. Gerhard Dueck

Dr. Gerhard Dueck received his BSc, Master, and PhD degrees in Computer Science from the University of Manitoba in 1983, 1986, and 1988, respectively. After completing his PhD he joined St. Francis Xavier University in Antigonish, Nova Scotia. In 1991 he spent a year at the Naval Postgraduate School in Monterey, CA, as a research associate. In 1999 he joined the Faculty of Computer Science at the University of New Brunswick where he currently is a professor. He has published more than 90 refereed papers in journals and conferences. He has been on numerous program committees for international conferences as well as on the editorial board of journals.

Dr. Eric Aubanel

Dr. Eric Aubanel has been in the Faculty of Computer Science at UNB since 2000. He received his Bachelors of Science from Trent University and his PhD from Queen's University. Eric's current research includes the development of tools and algorithms to support scientific computing on heterogeneous distributed resources, including manycore accelerators. He is also beginning a study of the psychology of parallel programming. In 2016 he published a graduate textbook on parallel computing, Elements of Parallel Computing, with CRC Press. He was a team member on an IBM CAS project on performance optimization of the IBM Java Virtual Machine on multicore processors. He also collaborates with Envenio, Inc. on developing cutting edge Computational Fluid Dynamics software.

Dr. Michael Fleming

Dr. Michael Fleming has a Bachelor of Science degree from Mount Allison University and a Master of Mathematics degree and PhD from the University of Waterloo.  He has been a Professor in the Faculty of Computer Science at the University of New Brunswick since 2003, and he has served for two terms as an Assistant Dean in the faculty.  His research interests include artificial intelligence, preference elicitation, decision theory, and adaptive systems.  He has recently joined the CAS Atlantic team and is participating in the Load Stall Minimization project.

Dr. David Bremner

Dr. David Bremner holds three degrees in Computer Science, a B.Sc. Hons. from the University of Calgary (1990), an M.Sc. from Simon Fraser University (1993) and a Ph.D. from McGill University (1997). David spent two years as an NSERC postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Mathematics at the University of Washington from 1997 to 1999. Since 2000 David has been a faculty member at the University of New Brunswick, and is currently a Professor of Computer Science with a Cross Appointment to the Department of Mathematics and Statistics. Recently, David has made extended research visits to the Technical University of Berlin (as an Alexander von Humboldt Fellow), the University of Rostok, and Kyoto University. David's research interests include Programming Languages, Computational Geometry, and Mathematical Optimization.

Dr. Suprio Ray

Dr. Suprio Ray is an Associate Professor at the Faculty of Computer Science, University of New Brunswick, Fredericton. He received his Ph.D. in Computer Science from University of Toronto and M.Sc. in Computer Science from University of British Columbia. Prior to his academic career, he worked in the software industry for a number of years. His research interests include big data and database systems, spatio-temporal data management, query processing on modern hardware, compiler and runtime support for scalable data science, data provenance and privacy, parallel and distributed systems, and Cloud computing. He investigates how to build scalable data systems and develop novel approaches for query processing and data analysis. He has been a member of CAS, Atlantic since joining UNB. He won two best paper awards and is the co-inventor in a US patent. He also received the Harrison McCain Foundation Young Scholars Award.

Research Assistants

Stephen MacKay Technical Project Manager
Aaron Graham RA
DeVerne Jones RA

Graduate Students

Maria Patrou PhD
Georgiy Krylov PhD
Scott Young PhD
Fatemeh Khoda Parast PhD
Harpreet Kaur PhD
Hassan Arafat PhD
Yoonjib Kim PhD
Maxim Uzun MCS
Aaron Graham MCS
Jean-Philippe Legault MCS
Joannah Nanjekye MCS
Anil Hitang MCS
Md. Alvee Noor MCS
Tobias Niessen MCS
Shubh Sharma MCS
Siri Sahithi Ponangi MCS
Damian Diago Dmonte MCS
Sujit Bhandari MCS
Zhuoran Li MCS
Nga Tran MCS
Seyed Alireza Damghani MCS
Debajyoti Datta MCS
Gabriel Adeyemo MCS
Nithin Ivan MCS


Eric Coffin MCS
Petar Jelenkovic MCS
Dayton Allen MCS
Abhijit Taware MCS
Konstantin Nasartschuk PhD
Scott Young MCS
Andrii Kuch MCS
Panagiotis Patros PhD
Jiapeng Zhu MCS
Taees Eimuri PhD
Shijie Xu PhD
Maria Patrou MCS
Bing Yang PhD
Tristan Basa MCS
Johannes Ilisei MCS
Azden Bierbrauer MCS
Marcel Dombrowski MCS
Federico Sogaro MCS
Manfred Jendrosch MCS
Dev Bhattacharya MCS
Panagiotis Patros MCS
Nicolas Neu MCS
Umang Pandya MCS
Baoguo Zhou MCS
Chenwei Wang MCS

Former Staff

Lori Clair Project Manager
Kristine Richard RA
Andrew Sommerville RA
Yang Wang Post Doc
Dayal Dilli RA
Kim Briggs Senior RA
Adam Richard RA
Yoann Arseneau RA
Mazder Rahman Post Doc
Hillary Soontiens RA (co-op)
Jacob Baird RA (co-op)
Michael Flawn RA (co-op)
Mark Thom Post Doc