Global Site Navigation (use tab and down arrow)

Associated Alumni

Graduating Student Leadership Awards

The UNB Saint John Graduating Student Leadership Awards recognize students who have made outstanding voluntary extracurricular contributions to their academic program/department, or to UNB Saint John as a whole.

The awards program was created in 2005 by the UNB Associated Alumni to acknowledge and encourage student participation in university affairs. More than 350 alumni are now members of this exclusive group of ‘UNB Saint John Graduating Student Leaders'.

2022 Graduating Student Leadership Awards Celebration

We look forward to celebrating the 2022 UNB Saint John Graduating Student Leaders virtually, March 31 at 6 p.m. (ADT). The event will be available to watch on the UNB Young Alumni Facebook page.

2022 Graduating Student Leaders

Zainab Ali

Zainab is an advocate for student rights with an emphasis on providing a more inclusive campus environment through her work with the Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee and as founding member of the Student Services Advisory Council.

Simon Anctil

Simon is a five-year dedicated athlete with the men’s volleyball team, who has also volunteered for several community programs and fundraisers that include the Wolfpack club program, Think Pink, and Bell Let’s Talk.

Julia Bennett

A captain of the women’s basketball team, Julia has been a leader on and off the court, supporting her teammates and fellow athletes with several community and Seawolves-sponsored initiatives.

Abigail Bernard

Abigail is a student-athlete with women’s volleyball and a CCAA National Scholar, who also serves the campus community as a member of the Student Athlete Advisory Council, and as part of the Saint John Indigenous Health Advisory Circle.

Allee Bezeau

A member of the women’s soccer team, Allee has made a tremendous impact as an athlete in addition to her volunteer contributions to advocacy groups on campus and in the community.

Charlotte Fanjoy

Charlotte is an all-around student leader who has been significantly involved in student government. She has been committed to advocating for students, enhancing campus life, and building space for students with a focus on sustainability. 

Madison Glenn

Madison has volunteered with many organizations on campus, including serving as a mentor with The Promise Partnership, that led her to give back more volunteer time to groups in the local community all while serving as an unofficial ambassador for UNB Saint John.

Joshua Goguen

Recipient of significant awards for both his athletic and academic successes, Joshua is a proud Seawolves soccer player and an active volunteer and athletic ambassador for several activities on campus.

Katie Herrington

Katie has volunteered with The Promise Partnership Program, served as writer and editor of the campus newspaper, and started several student-led drives to support local non-profits in the Saint John area. 

Charlotte Knappe

In addition to her successful soccer career at UNB Saint John, Charlotte has held several leadership positions with groups such as the Women in Business Society, where she led a new campus initiative called, ‘Women of UNBSJ’.

Ashley MacLean

Ashley is committed to promoting and creating mental health awareness on campus. Her work led to the #SeawolvesLetsTalk slogan that continues today. As president of the chapter, she has rallied her fellow students to join her in this mission.

Lauren McKinley

Lauren is an advocate for gender equality on campus and in the community. Her work and leadership within the Women in Business Society has led to innovative programming that supports students across campus.

Delaram Mirshamsi

As an international student, Delaram knows firsthand the challenges of transitioning to a new home, so she has been committed to supporting her fellow students through the learning community program and by serving as a loyal volunteer with The Promise Partnership.

Niomi Monteiro

Niomi has spent her years at UNB Saint John helping where needed, whether within the residence community, as an SRC committee member or as co-chair with the Student Services Advisory Council. 

Ashlee Morrell

Ashlee received numerous prestigious awards for her contributions to the campus community. Whether it be through her advocate work for mental health wellness or serving as an orientation leader, she strives to make a positive difference.

Kathryn Nason

Kathryn has been actively engaged on campus and has contributed to enhancing the student experience through her involvement with several initiatives, including representing her faculty as an arts representative on the SRC and her long-time volunteer involvement with The Promise Partnership. 

Sophie Sharp

Ria has a passion for being involved in her community and at UNB Saint John. She was active in student government, where she represented the international student community as a councilor and was former president of the Multi-cultural Association. 

Kaitlyn Sears

Kaitlyn is a member of the women’s volleyball team and, as such, has been a tremendous ambassador for her sport through the Wolfpack club program, refereeing in the community, and raising funds to support worthy charities. 

Sophie Sharp

Through her volunteer efforts with the Student Athlete Advisory Council, fundraising for charity, and five-years as a varsity player with the women’s basketball team, Sophie has positively impacted both her own student experience and that of others.

Mila Veljanovska

Mila likes to bring people together to create an environment that is welcoming and inclusive for all students, faculty, and staff. In her first year, she founded the UNBSJ Chess Club and continues to serve as the club president. 

Benjamin Wilson

Ben is a varsity athlete with the Seawolves volleyball team, who has generously given his time to The Promise Partnership, serving as VP of the Student Athlete Advisory Council, and coaching the Wolfpack club program. 

Anthony Enman Unsung Hero Merit Award

This award honours a Saint John campus student enrolled in the final year of an undergraduate degree program, who has made outstanding contributions to the university and surrounding community.

2022 recipient: Charlotte Fanjoy, BBA


View previous recipients

Your support matters

Support UNB students by giving to our alumni student award funds