Take your degree to the next level

The Masters (MA) and doctoral (PhD) programs offered by the Faculty of Arts help students further develop their analytical and communications skills while deepening their knowledge and expertise in focused areas.

A graduate-level program at the Faculty of Arts pairs students with experts in their fields, providing a challenging learning environment that is tailored to meet the individual students' interests. Our programs offer a variety of course-based as well as research-based learning opportunities.

The Faculty of Arts offers 12 graduate programs at the master's and PhD level through eight Graduate Academic Units.

GAU is an administrative unit of graduate programs offered in a discipline. A typical GAU consists of all members of a department and some external members from other departments at UNB from both the Fredericton and Saint John campuses as well as from other institutions. A GAU works directly with the School of Graduate Studies in all matters related to its graduate programs

Masters'-level programs

The Faculty of Arts offers masters degrees in Anthropology, Classics and Ancient History, Economics, English (Academic), English (Creative Writing), History, Political Science and Sociology

Integrated MA/PhD programs

The Faculty of Arts offers integrated MA/PhD degrees in Psychology (Clinical) and Psychology (Experimental Applied)

PhD programs

The Faculty of Arts also offers PhD programs in English, History and Sociology.


The University of New Brunswick is responsible for more than 80 per cent of all university research in the province. Masters and PhD students contribute significantly to research efforts within the Faculty of Arts.

We have more than 200 graduate students working with more than 100 faculty and researchers.

In recent years, we have about a dozen MA students and about seven PhD student s who have received the prestigious graduate fellowship awards from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council,Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research.