Student Design Competition | Off-site Construction Research Centre | UNB

Global Site Navigation (use tab and down arrow)

Off-site Construction Research Centre

2022 Off-site Construction Student Design Competition

The second annual Off-site Construction Student Design Competition will showcase student design innovation in modular, prefabricated, panelized, and other types of off-site construction. The competition is presented by the University of New Brunswick’s Off-Site Construction Research Centre (OCRC), a research group dedicated to optimizing alternate solutions to on-site construction.

The student design competition is presented in partnership with OSCO Construction Group. OSCO is a collection of 10 companies operating in concrete, steel, and construction. They serve markets throughout Canada, the Eastern U.S. and the Caribbean.

Competition results

First prize: The Montgomery Complex
Anneliese Sirju, Luisa Prestes, Luz Almazan Martinez, Leslie Anne Bugayong, Julianne Brewer, Jiyoung Park, Hyoung Sik Yoon and Ming Kai Tang (Southern Alberta Institute of Technology)

Second prize: The Magee-Mcleod Housing
Simon-Olivier Fortin, Sarah Samsoudin and Charles-Emmanuel Lambert (Université du Québec à Montréal)

Third prize: Mary Matilda House
Nishi Praveen Kumar, Jennifer Lara, Aspen Soelling, Carl Yan, Cedric (University of British Columbia and British Columbia Institute of Technology)

Honourable mention: The Pharus
Joshua Gregorchuk, Daniel Nykolaychuk, Mana Erfani, Jesse Adamson, Amardeep Singh (University of Manitoba)

Honourable mention: The Timber Lodge
Dejan, Mircevski Raafat, Khankan Abdul, Nasir (York University)

Honourable mention: The Stack
Joe Witherow, Ryan Sterling and Jesse-Rae Taylor (St. Clair College of Applied Arts and Technology)

Previous winners

First Prize: The Impetus (Nelson, British Columbia)
Jesse Martyn (University of British Columbia) | Watch the video

Second Prize: Peace Garden Village (Edmonton, Alberta)
Wes Schofield (Northern Alberta Institute of Technology), Ju Huang (Carleton University), Elizabeth Maciborsky (Northern Alberta Institute of Technology), Riley Tenove (Northern Alberta Institute of Technology) | Watch the video

Third Prize: Iqaluit Community, Housing (Iqaluit, Nunavut)
Yakine Zerrad (Carleton University), Saman Soltani (Carleton University) | Watch the video

Honourable Mention: New Outremont (Montréal, Québec)
Alexandra Gagnon-Roy (Université de Montréal), Parisa Kashaniamin (Université de Montréal)

Honourable Mention: Decastelneau Street Affordable Housing (Montréal, Québec)
Meili Pradel-Tessier (Université de Montréal), Benjamin Gutzeit (Université de Montréal)

Honourable Mention: Bank Street Corridor (Ottawa, Ontario)
Ruba Salah (Algonquin College), Vahid Mesgarzadeh (Algonquin College)

Honourable Mention: Separately Together (Toronto, Ontario)
Helia Mahdavian (University of Toronto), Jennifer Nguyen (University of Toronto), Abida Rahman (University of Toronto), Megan So (University of Toronto)

Honourable Mention: Hyperloop Station (Toronto, Ontario)
John Shen (University of Toronto), Richard Schutte (University of Toronto), Xingcheng Huang (University of Toronto), Jose Ricardo Maldonado Moscoso (University of Toronto) | Watch the video

Honourable Mention: Catalogue (Edmonton, Alberta)
Jenny Chen (University of Waterloo), Lydia Xia (University of Waterloo), David Li, (University of Alberta) | Watch the video

Honourable Mention: West Don Lands Transitional Housing (Toronto, Ontario)
Novaya Politra (Carleton University), Pauline Gahunia (Carleton University), Lyric Barnik (University of Waterloo)