2019 Sir Howard Douglas Scholars

2019 Sir Howard Douglas Scholars

Back row (L-R): Emily Tingley, Seshu Iyengar, Austin Henderson, Matthew Hynes, Jeremy Slayter. Front row (L-R): Daniel Hanscom, Lucas Hallett, Herbert Adutwum-Bempah, Vaishnavi Sai Anupindi

Herbert Adutwum-Bempha, Kumasi, Ghana, Bachelor of Business Administration, Honours in Human Resource Management, UNB Fredericton, believes that we are all born with a common purpose - to leave this earth, our society and our individual lives better than we found it. Herbert has done exactly that through his actions as a student advocate and breaking stereotypes at UNB and the community as UNB Student Union president, co-chair of the UNB TEDx initiative and as treasurer of UNB’s African Caribbean Society.

Vaishnavi Sai Anupindi, Fredericton, N.B., Bachelor of Computer Honours, UNB Fredericton, is a firm believer in taking risks, continuous learning and serving others. Vaishnavi has taken this belief and made it a reality as a co-founder of the Girls STEM Up program, chair of the Equal Voice’s NB chapter and as a peer mentor for the Science Student Leadership program.

Lucas Hallett, Rothesay, N.B., Bachelor of Science in Engineering, Civil Engineering, UNB Fredericton, believes opportunities you are given are a direct result of offering opportunities to others. As president of the UNB Saint John Engineering Society, president of Atlantic Council of Engineering Students and a volunteer for Search and Rescue, Lucas is always looking for ways to support his community.

Daniel Hanscom, Fredericton, N.B., Bachelor of Science, Biology, UNB Fredericton, is motivated to help others reach their own personal goals. Whether this is as editor-in-chief of the Atlantic Student Research Journal, president of the Health Science Society, peer tutor or football coach, Daniel is determined to help others along their path to success.

Austin Henderson, Salisbury, N.B., Bachelor of Philosophy, UNB Fredericton, wants to build a better community by escaping people’s comfort zones, pushing boundaries and being a trailblazer. Austin is the chair of the Plan International Canada Youth Advisory Council, vice-president of the Canadian Parents for French Board of Directors and an inaugural member of the executive team of UNB SPRING.

Matthew Hynes, Fredericton, N.B., Bachelor of Science, Biology, UNB Fredericton, is a firm believer in helping others. He fulfils this belief as a co-founder and captain for the UNB Life Saving Team, as a volunteer for the UNB SPRING program and as a volunteer for the AIDS NB Needle Exchange Program.

Seshu Iyengar, Fredericton, N.B., Bachelor of Arts & Bachelor of Science, Philosophy & Biology-Physics, UNB Fredericton, believes in the positive effect we can have on others and the importance of volunteerism. Seshu is an active volunteer as the chair of the Atlantic Universities Physics and Astronomy Conference, a member of the Fredericton Constituency Youth Council and as part of the executive team for the UNB Philosophy Society.

Jeremy Slayter, Quispamsis, N.B., Bachelor of Science, Biology, UNB Fredericton, is passionate about the support provided to students while in university and when the graduate. As co-founder of the Atlantic Students Research Journal, member of the UNB Fredericton Senate and junior president and medications director for Global Brigades, Jeremy considers giving back to others his primary motivation.

Emily Tingley, Hopewell Cape, N.B., Bachelor of Nursing, UNB Fredericton, became involved in her community specifically to build an inclusive and welcoming environment for everyone. Emily has been able to fulfill this through co-founding the “What Were You Wearing” project, as residence proctor, as a volunteer with the UNB SPRING organization and as a member of UNB Student Union’s Orientation Executive, BlackShirt.