Sept. 23, 2016: The Next Chapter: 70+ Years of The Fiddlehead & The Stained Glass Windows of Memorial Hall | UNB

Global Site Navigation (use tab and down arrow)

College of Extended Learning

The Next Chapter: 70+ Years of The Fiddlehead
The Stained Glass Windows of Memorial Hall

Sept. 23 to Oct. 28, 2016

Continuing its 75th anniversary celebrations, the UNB Art Centre is delighted to announce two upcoming exhibitions celebrating the unique history of the UNB Art Centre and the University of New Brunswick. The Next Chapter: 70+ Years of The Fiddlehead and The Stained Glass Windows of Memorial Hall examine the ways art and artistic expression have been fostered at UNB over the past 75 years. Both exhibitions will open on Friday, Sept. 23 with a reception from 5-7 p.m. This reception will also launch the UNB Art Centre’s stained glass window conservation campaign.

The Next Chapter: 70+ Years of The Fiddlehead takes a look at Canada’s oldest literary magazine, The Fiddlehead. Launched in 1945 by A.G. Bailey and the Bliss Carman Society, the Early Fiddlehead magazines featured covers designed by the UNB Art Centre’s own Lucy Jarvis. In the 1960s Editor Kent Thompson began to feature the artwork of Marjory Donaldson and Bruno Bobak. It was Roger Ploude, a member of UNB’s English Department and editor during the 1970s, that began to use the cover as a gallery featuring the artwork of various Maritime artists, including artists like Charlotte Glencross, Angel Gomez, Stephen May, and Yvon Gallant to name only a few. The Next Chapter will feature these covers, on display from the UNB Art Centre’s permanent collection.

Opened in 1923, and dedicated by Lord Byng of Vimy, Memorial Hall was built to honour the memories of UNB’s fallen heroes of the First World War. Throughout its history, Memorial Hall has been home to physics and chemistry classes and laboratories, CHSR, and to annual convocation ceremonies, and more recently Theatre UNB, the Centre for Musical Arts and the UNB Art Centre. Designed by Saint John architect F. Neil Brodie, the building’s architecture combines a unique blend of Classical and Gothic styles. One of the most impressive features of the building is the 7 stained glass windows in the building’s auditorium. These windows, celebrating the lives and contributions of UNB alumni and professors were donated by family members between 1926 and 1943 and were manufactured by the MacCausland Company of Toronto and by the Clayton and Bell Company of London, England. These magnificent stained glass windows are now in need of repair due to deterioration caused by exposure to the elements and settling of the building.

The exhibition, The Stained Glass Windows of Memorial Hall will launch a fundraising campaign to help in the conservation of these windows. To help with this project, the UNB Art Centre has produced a 16-month calendar featuring images of the windows of Memorial Hall. Each calendar will sell for $15 and funds will go directly to the conservation of the windows. As well copies of Glorious Light: The Stained Glass of Fredericton by local architect and author John Leroux will be on sale with proceeds supporting the restoration campaign. The University of New Brunswick recognizes the historical and cultural significance of these beautiful historic windows, and the importance of their preservation for future generations (click here to learn more about the stained glass windows).

Please join the UNB Art Centre as we open The Next Chapter: 70+ Years of The Fiddlehead and The Stained Glass Windows of Memorial Hall on Friday, Sept. 23. A reception will be held from 5pm-7pm in Memorial Hall, University of New Brunswick campus. Come and celebrate the UNB Art Centre’s 75th anniversary and the spirit of creativity that continues to enrich the university and the local community.

For more information

Marie Maltais, Director
(506) 453-4623
Join our mailing list

Back to Past Exhibitions full listings