Nominating Committee

Membership 2018-2019

Name & Term Expiry Position/Constituency
Robert MacKinnon (Senator) Vice-President Saint John
Sarah DeVarenne (non-voting) Secretary, Saint John Senate
TBA (2021) (Senator)
Dann Downes (2019) (Senator) Faculty of Arts
Connie Stewart (2019) (Senator) Faculty of SASE
Cathy O'Brien Larivee (2020) (Senator) Faculty of SASE
Dan Doiron (2019) (Senator) Faculty of Business
David Ross (2021) (Senator) Librarian
TBA (2019) (Senator) Student

(a) Terms of Reference

(As revised by SJ Senate September 2001, September 2006, September 2009)

The Committee will:

  • review the membership of Senate committees and Senate representatives on other committees each Spring, and at other times as necessary, and make nominations to Senate for replacements or additions;

  • make nominations to search committees and to other committees as directed by Senate;

  • collect, review and, if necessary, propose revisions in the terms of reference and structure of Senate committees;

  • draft guidelines and instructions for Senate committees, including the form of different types of reports (e.g. reports which recommend action should contain the necessary recommendations in a form which will be appropriate for Senate debate);

  • maintain a general supervision over Senate committees to ensure that their reports are available to the Senate when needed;

  • recommend by-laws for Senate, review the by-laws from time to time, and recommend any necessary changes.

(b) Membership

Membership: (9)        Voting Members: (8)         Quorum: (5 voting members)


Vice-President (SJ)

Secretary, SJ Senate - Secretary (non-voting)

Appointed: (on the recommendation of the Senate Nominating Committee)

5 Senators (normally at least 1 from each Faculty)

1 Student Senator. Plus one (1) alternate Student Senator.

1 "Other" Senator (i.e. non-faculty/student)

(c) Chair:

Vice-President (Saint John)

(d) E-mail Balloting:

E-mail balloting may be conducted on matters that have already been discussed and given a general indication of assent by the Committee or for certain routine items of business which require approval for recommendation to Senate at its next meeting. The Secretary, in consultation with the Chair, shall identify items of business which could be considered by e-mail ballot. The Secretary (or designate) shall contact the members of the Committee by e-mail to gain consent to vote on the matter(s) in question by e-mail. Should any member of the Committee feel the matter(s) require the Committee to meet, the Secretary shall call a meeting of the Committee. Consent will be determined by the majority of those who have responded within three business days. If the members agree to an e-mail ballot, the Secretary (or designate) shall forward an e-mail ballot to the voting members of the Committee. Full documentation, if not already available to Committee members, shall be circulated with the ballot.

The ballot shall contain three options: FOR/AGAINST/ABSTAIN.

For a motion to be approved on an e-mail ballot, a majority of the members eligible to vote must vote FOR the motion. In determining the number required for a majority, those voting ABSTAIN are excluded from the total eligible to vote

Reports to Senate