Fredericton Senate

In accordance with the University of New Brunswick Act, the Fredericton Senate is composed of both ex-officio and elected positions, with 71 members overall.  Meetings are held monthly during the academic year and are chaired by the President of UNB. It draws its membership from Faculty, students, members of senior administration and the Board of Governors. 

The Fredericton Senate has 13 standing committees, five of which draw membership from both Fredericton and Saint John campuses and one joint committee with the Saint John campus.  It appoints Senators to more that ten other University committees.  These committees perform a diverse range of tasks from revising admission regulations to setting up scholarships to awarding honorary degrees.