Role of the Chancellor

The chancellor is the titular head of the university.  In addition to conferring university degrees, the chancellor serves ex officio on the board of governors and provides advice to the president and chair of the board.  The chancellor is a passionate ambassador for the university and actively connects UNB to the greater community.

Appointment of the Chancellor

In accordance with the University of New Brunswick Act, the chancellor is appointed by the lieutenant-governor in council.  This voluntary position is for a five year, renewable term.

Current Chancellor

See Chancellor McCain’s installation speech from the October 24, 2013, Convocation ceremony here.

Dr. Allison D. McCain (BScEE’72, DSc’07, P.Eng.) was installed as University of New Brunswick’s sixth modern-day chancellor in October 2013.

Dr. McCain is chair of McCain Foods and serves as chair of the Beaverbrook Art Gallery’s board of governors and a member of the board of the New Brunswick Business Council.  An internationally respected business leader, Dr. McCain earned a reputation as a gifted manager and leader who skillfully balances a genuine concern for his employees with a long-term vision for the company.

As an active alumnus, volunteer and honorary degree recipient, Allison D. McCain is no stranger to the University of New Brunswick.  In 2003, he was recruited to chair the university’s ‘Forging our Futures’ fundraising campaign, which exceeded its goal by raising an unprecedented $107 million – then a record in Atlantic Canada.  Dr. McCain’s philanthropic activities extend well into the broader region, where he and McCain Foods support the arts, education, and numerous community activities and organizations.

Dr. McCain resides in Florenceville, New Brunswick with his wife Clare and is a proud father of two grown children.

Former Chancellors (as of 1947)

(Prior to 1947 the position of chancellor played a different role than it does today)

  • Lord Beaverbrook (William Maxwell Aitken) – 1947 -1964*
  • Sir Max Aitken (John William Maxwell “Max” Aitken) - 1966-1982*
  • Lady Violet Aitken, Chancellor Emerita - 1982-1992
  • Frederik S. Eaton - 1993-2003
  • Richard J. Currie, Chancellor Emeritus - 2003-2013
  • Allison D. McCain – 2013-



Inquiries and communications for the chancellor may be directed to or by calling the University Secretariat at (506) 453-4613.

Last Updated: 4 April 2014