Sir Howard Douglas Scholars 2011

Sixteen UNB students have become Sir Howard Douglas Scholars. Four of the sixteen winners are from UNB Saint John and are enrolled in the Faculty of Science, Applied Science, and Engineering (SASE).

The Sir Howard Douglas Scholars are presented on a yearly basis to undergraduate students in at least their 3rd year, who have made the Dean’s list, and who have been involved in co-curricular or extra-curricular activities. This years Sir Howard Douglas Scholar winners from UNB Saint John include: Caitlyn Carpenter, Erica Forward, Isatu Johnson, and Holly Steeves. 

Caitlyn Carpenter is in the bachelor of science program; she is majoring in biology and minoring in biochemistry. Caitlyn volunteers in pediatrics at the Saint John Regional Hospital and the Backyard Book Club. In addition, she is president of the student volunteer unit with the UNB Student Representative Council.

Erica Forward is in the bachelor of science program and is double majoring in biology and psychology. She is a member of the Golden Key Honours Society and the UNB Saint John Seawolves Varsity Woman's Basketball team. Also, she volunteers at the Backyard Book Club, Best Buddies, and the Saint john Regional Hospital.

Isatu Johnson is in the bachelor of nursing program. She is the founder and director of multicultural events of the All Women Empowerment Development Association. On top of these duties, Isatu is a peer mentor, Sunday school teacher assistant, class representative, and a member of several campus clubs.

Holly Steeves is in the bachelor of science program, double majoring in mathematics and statistics. She has participated in the APICS Math Competition and Conference, tutors students, and helps professors to grade assignments. Also, Holly volunteers with the Heart and Stroke Foundation and serves as youth co-ordinator for Second State Safe Haven Housing.

Congratulations Caitlyn, Erica, Isatu, and Holly!

Related link: 16 UNB students become Sir Howard Douglas Scholars