Macaulay-O'Sullivan Award Winners 2012

The Macaulay-O’Sullivan Awards for Administrative Service and Innovation were presented for the first time to five unique UNB projects launched during 2011-12.  These projects are the result of substantial teamwork, cooperation and creativity.

Four projects were recognized on the Fredericton campus:

The Energy Upgrades to the Head Hall Engineering Complex, carried out by Facilities Management staff under the auspices of the Energy Management Program.  This award-winning project has resulted in savings of more than $200,000 annually and a significant reduction in greenhouse gas emissions.

The myUNB Portal, an award-winning initiative of Information Technology Services, has had an impact on faculty, staff and students across both campuses, creating a fully integrated and highly interactive “intranet” that has consolidated all online services through one access point.

New initiatives by UFirst: Integrated Recruitment and Retention, including Sales and Service Recruitment Territories, the Hello UNB Tour, and the Online Recruitment Program, which have helped to meet enrolment objectives, ensured high quality service for applicants and improved response times.

The Summer Employment Program Pilot, designed and administered by Student Affairs and Services, provided meaningful employment to students from under-represented groups and ongoing skill-building  workshops to ensure these students would continue to be successful in completing PSE and securing a job.

The fifth winning project was on the Saint John campus:

The Bridge Network Program, an initiative of the Saint John Chapter of the Associated Alumni, brings alumni mentors together with students to provide experiential learning opportunities, career advice and professional development workshops.

The 2012 selection committee, chaired by Vice-President Finance and Corporate Services Dan Murray, comprised: Rob Austin, dean of business administration; Chris Baker, professor of computer science; Shirley Cleave, associate vice-president academic; Gail Correia, manager of acquisitions at the Klohn Commons; Peter McDougall, associate vice-president  for human resources;  Susan Montague, senior campaign advisor and secretary to the committee; Terry Nikkel, associate vice-president for information technology services; Joey O’Kane, chair of the UNB Fredericton Orientation Committee; Tara Smith, human resources consultant; and Vera Zarowsky, administrative assistant in the department of psychology.