Safety Handbook

A Presidential Task Force established in 1978 to review University safety made specific recommendations for the development of a formal safety program. These recommendations included the development of safety policies and programs for the University in the form of the Safety Handbook.

In 1985, a Safety Coordinator position responsible for the Fredericton and Saint John campuses was created and a Joint Health & Safety Committee (J.H.S.C.), was formed on each campus representing all employer and employee groups. In 1992, a Manager of Safety & Security position was created on the Saint John Campus.

The University of New Brunswick Safety Handbook has been prepared and distributed to all Chairs, Deans, Directors and administrative Heads of departments.

The handbook contains the safety organizational structure, a general policy statement on University safety, and specific policies and procedures relating to University operations. Pages will be updated as required.