Global Site Navigation (use tab and down arrow)

Associated Alumni

Beaverbrook Scholars continue the tradition

Each year, the Beaverbrook Scholars past and present celebrate the legacy of Lord Beaverbrook and his influence on their university and professional careers by assembling for an annual dinner and general meeting.

This past fall, Pauline Lordon (BA’89, BEd’90, MEd’07) spoke at the dinner about how her experience as a Beaverbrook Scholar benefitted her academic and professional development in the New Brunswick education system. Pauline, originally from Miramichi, NB, received the Beaverbrook Scholars Award in 1985 and later served as chair of the Beaverbrook Scholars Award Committee.

Beaverbrook Scholars of the past may have received any one of several types of scholarships established in Lord Beaverbrook's name at UNB, but they all share a common bond: they spent their formative years at UNB, and now they are committed to giving back in gratitude for the opportunities Lord Beaverbrook and the scholarships offered them.

Along with the distinction of receiving a Beaverbrook Scholarship, alumni and students join a group that remains connected through other events such as the reception during the Varsity Reds hockey game on Jan. 9 when UNB defeated St.FX.

Plan to attend the Beaverbrook Scholars Dinner and General Meeting on Sept. 29 and Oct. 1, in conjunction with Homecoming.

For more information, visit the Beaverbrook Scholars site.

Current Beaverbrook Scholars Executive Committee

  • Chair: Katie FitzRandolph (BA‘63)
  • Vice-chair: Charles Haché (BSc‘09, JD‘14)
  • Secretary: Jon Thompson (BSc‘64)
  • Past chair: Natalie Webber (BCS‘97, MCS‘03)
  • At-large members: John Bliss (BScEng’55), Rod Nolan (BScEng’57, MScEng’63, DSc’04), Jamie Petrie (BBA‘90, LLB‘94), Kristina Rodgers (BSc’10), Michael Spracklin (student representative), Frank Wilson (BScEng’62, MScEng’63).

Back to Alumni News Direct - January 2016