Emergency Retention Mechanism: Transparency Statement

The University of New Brunswick (UNB) intends to use the Canada Research Chairs Program's emergency retention mechanism to nominate an individual for an NSERC Tier 2 Canada Research Chair.

The individual UNB intends to nominate for this Chair works in an emerging area of research and is being heavily recruited by other institutions. This researcher is critical to the success of a priority research area in UNB's strategic research plan; this priority area will face a significant setback if UNB loses this individual's knowledge, leadership, academic networks, and industrial collaborations.

UNB has taken its equity and diversity targets into consideration when making this decision. The decision to use the emergency retention mechanism was approved by:

Dr. Paul Mazerolle, President, University of New Brunswick (president@unb.ca)

Dr. David MaGee, Vice-President (Research), University of New Brunswick (vpr@unb.ca)

Dr. George MacLean, Vice-President (Academic), University of New Brunswick (vpacad@unb.ca)

Questions or concerns regarding this decision may be directed to Dr. David MaGee, Vice-President (Research), at cre@unb.ca.