Global Site Navigation (use tab and down arrow)

Giving to UNB

Our Campaign Cabinet

Campaign Co-chairs, David Ganong and Robert Quartermain.

As alumni and native New Brunswickers, we are proud to be part of UNB’s continuing success by co-chairing the It Begins Here campaign. We lead a 40-plus volunteer campaign cabinet that is dedicated to engaging alumni and donors, increasing support for students and programs, investing in the people and ideas that will shape the future and building the visibility of UNB within New Brunswick and across Canada.

UNB is Canada’s oldest English-language university and today it is widely recognized for its innovative programs, entrepreneurial spirit and world-class research. With your help, we will invest in the people and ideas that will shape the future. It begins here. It begins with you.

  • Dr. David Ganong, CM (BBA 1965, LLD 2012), Executive Vice-Chair, Ganong Bros. Limited, Campaign co-chair
  • Dr. Robert A. Quartermain (BSc 1977, DSc 2009), Chair and CEO, Pretivm Resources Inc., Campaign co-chair

Read a Q&A with our co-chairs

Campaign Cabinet Members

View photos of our cabinet members or read the list below.

Honorary Co-Chairs

  • Dr. Richard J. Currie, OC, MBA, LLD, PEng (Class of 1960, LLD 1987), UNB Chancellor Emeritus
  • Dr. Fredrik S. Eaton, OC, OOnt (BA 1962, LLD 1983), UNB Chancellor (1993-2003)
  • Dr. Sandra Irving, CM (BA 1995, DLitt 2009), Philanthropist and Community Leader
  • The Honorable Frank J. McKenna, PC, OC, ONB, QC (LLB 1974, LLD 1988), Deputy Chair, TD Bank Group
  • Dr. Elizabeth Parr-Johnston, CM (DLitt 2004), UNB President (1996–2002)

Members of the Cabinet

  • Ms. Stephanie Anderson (BSc 1984), CFO, Baffinland Iron Mine Corp.
  • Dr. Laura Araneda (BBA 1991, DLitt 2014), President, Vic Progressive Diamond Drilling Inc.
  • Mr. Brian Baxter (BA 1967), Chair, UNB Board of Governors
  • Mr. Marc Bedard (BBA 1974), Past President, UNB Associated Alumni
  • Dr. Eddy Campbell, UNB President and Vice-Chancellor
  • Mrs. Elizabeth Currie, Volunteer, Philanthropist and Honorary Member of the UNB Associated Alumni
  • Ms. Louise de Grandpré (BPE 1979, BBA 1980), Vice-President, Finance and Administration, Merit Travel Group Inc.
  • Dr. Desh Deshpande (MScEngEE 1975, DSc 2001), Chair, Sparta Group LLC
  • Mr. George Estey (BScEngME 1980), Senior Managing Director, Evercore Partners Canada
  • Ms. Roxanne Fairweather, ONB, President and Co-CEO, Innovatia and Honorary Member of the UNB Associated Alumni
  • Mr. Kevin Fritz (BA 1993), Partner, DLA Piper (Canada) LLP
  • Ms. Mary Goggin (BScCS 1982), Founder and former Vice-President, Accreon, IT Consultant
  • Mrs. Fiona Green (BA 1968), Volunteer and Philanthropist
  • Dr. Chris Huskilson (BScEngEE 1979, MScEngEE 1982, DSc 2014), President & CEO, Emera Inc.
  • Mr. Duc Luong (BScEngEE 1987), President, Butterfly Energy Systems
  • Dr. Alan N. MacGibbon, CM (BBA 1978, DLitt 2010), Vice-Chair and Strategic Advisor, Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP
  • Mr. Vaughn MacLellan (LLB 1995), Partner, DLA Piper (Canada) LLP
  • Mr. Michael MacSween (BScEngCHE 1990), Executive Vice-President, Major Projects, Suncor Energy Services Inc.
  • Dr. Allison McCain, CM (BScEngEE 1972, DSc 2007), Chair, McCain Foods and UNB Chancellor
  • Ms. Kathryn McCain (BA 1972), Past Chair, UNB Board of Governors
  • Mr. J. Scott McCain, President, JSM Capital Corporation
  • Dr. Nancy McFadyen (BA 1967, DLitt 2006), Volunteer and Community Philanthropist
  • Mr. Francis McGuire, Director, Major Drilling Group International Inc.
  • Mr. Michael Merrithew (BBA 1980), Chair and CEO, Merit Travel Group Inc.
  • Dr. Joseph Ng (BScEngEE 1973, DSc 2013), Founder and Chair, The JNE Group of Companies
  • Dr. Gerry Pond, ONB (BA 1966, DLitt 2004), Founder and Co-chair, Mariner Partners Inc.
  • Mr. Kelly Shotbolt (BBA 1979), President, ARAUCO North America
  • Mr. Robert N. Skillen (BPE 1979, BEd 1981, MEd 1988), UNB Vice-President Advancement
  • Mr. Peter Stapleton (BScEngCHE 1989, MScEngCHE 1992), Concept Engineering Manager, Shell Canada
  • Mr. G. Wayne Squibb (BA 1968), Co-founder and CEO, Realstar Group
  • Mr. Gaëtan Thomas (BScEngEE 1982), President and CEO, NB Power
  • Mrs. Lois Walker Gillin, Volunteer, Philanthropist and Honorary Member of the UNB Associated Alumni
  • Dr. David Ward (BBA 1962, DLitt 2007), Trustee, Ward Family Foundation
  • Dr. Mackenzie Watson (BSc 1959, DSc 2014), Honorary Chair, Quest Rare Minerals
  • Mr. Lee Winchester, Regional Vice-President, Nova Scotia South & Financial Planning Atlantic Provinces Division, BMO Financial Group
  • Ms. Brooke Yeates (BA 1995), Governance & Change Management, Vale Canada Limited and President, UNB Associated Alumni

Q&A with David Ganong and Robert (Bob) Quartermain

What made you decide to act as co-chair for this campaign?

DG: I wanted to assist with the continuing success of UNB in any way I could. UNB has remarkable research capabilities, comprehensive programs for students and it is central to the growth of our province. As I reflected on my unique experience as a long-standing member of the Board of Governors and as past board chair, I felt I could add value to this campaign and make a difference for UNB.

BQ: Although I live across the country now, I am still a New Brunswicker at heart and it was my education and personal growth at UNB that allowed me to enjoy a successful career in the resource industry. I was honoured to be asked to co-chair the It Begins Here campaign. This role allows me to give back to my university, but more importantly, to my home province, which has given so much to me. 

Why is the success of this campaign important to UNB?

DG: Campaigns like this one supply essential funds to UNB that will not come from other sources. They strengthen our core – our student awards, our research and our academic programs.

BQ: Nearly half the students who come to UNB from New Brunswick are the first in their family to attend university. As such, many of them require financial support in order to enter the campus gates and eventually graduate. The It Begins Here campaign has student support as its primary focus. The success of this campaign will enable today’s students and future generations to access transformational education at UNB. 

What do you hope to see happen over the course of this campaign?

DG: Over the course of this campaign, I hope that we build the visibility of UNB within our province and across Canada, especially the world-class research that is being done on our two main campuses. Of course I also hope that we surpass our campaign goal of $110 million!

BQ: Previous campaigns have shown how much UNB alumni, faculty and friends care about UNB. We hope to engage our past donors and to find many new supporters over the course of this campaign. One of the benefits of It Begins Here is that it has a national focus. With David and me living on opposite coasts, we are able to reach out to many more supporters across the country. 

Why is giving to this campaign important to you?

DG: This campaign is important to me because it focuses on supporting students and building on UNB’s existing strengths in research and innovation. UNB plays a leading role in Atlantic Canada and giving to this great institution will allow UNB to maintain its momentum and increase the breadth and quality of its programs.

BQ: UNB and New Brunswick matter very much to me. This is where my family lives and I have life-long friendships that started at UNB’s campuses in Saint John and Fredericton. When I was a student, I received an entrance scholarship and I had professors who knew my name and knew my strengths and potential. UNB is a unique learning environment and it helped me get to where I am today. That’s why I give back – I get to see a great university become even better.