The UNB Red Bombers Football team had two notable highlights in the 2016 season: the team hosted first playoff game since 2012, and the defensive line had a three and a half game pointless streak.

2016 award winners included:

  • Jacob Hanscom: AFL Offensive Linemen of the Year, AFL League All-Star, UNB Linemen of the Year
  • Luke Saunders: AFL League All-Star
  • Turner Sturgeon: AFL League All-Star, UNB Most Valuable Player
  • Jacob McNeil: AFL League All-Star, UNB Special Teams Player of the Year
  • Jacob Jurcina: AFL League All-Star, UNB Co-Defensive Player of the Year
  • Jake McKay: AFL League All-Star
  • Coel Storey: UNB Co-Defensive Player of the Year
  • Jesse Hazell: UNB Offensive Player of the Year
  • Winston Leger: UNB Spirit of the Bombers Award
  • Christian Sauter: UNB Rookie of the Year

League information

The Atlantic Football League (AFL) is a four team league: The UNB Red Bombers, The Dalhousie Tigers, Holland College Hurricanes, and UNBSJ Seawolves.

Team information

  • The season runs from September to early November.
  • The Red Bombers typically practice two times a week.
  • The regular season consists of six games. Games are generally on Saturday, but the schedule may vary.

Head coach: Dan McCullough, 506.440.8897