Matt Robinson (http://mattrobinsonpoet.wordpress.com/)


BA (Saint Mary's), BSc (Saint Mary's), BEd (MSVU), MA (UNB)

Matt Robinson’s most recent poetry publications are the 2017 limited edition Baseline Press (http://www.baselinepress.ca ) chapbook The Telephone Game (http://baselinepress.ca/chapbooks_content.php?subaction=showfull&id=1501779576&archive=&start_from=&ucat=38& ) and Some Nights It’s Entertainment; Some Other Nights Just Work, (http://www.gaspereau.com/bookInfo.php?AID=0&AISBN=9781554471638 )which was released by Gaspereau Press (http://www.gaspereau.com) in 2016.

His other collections include the limited edition chapbook a fist made and then un-made (http://www.gaspereau.com/bookInfo.php?AID=0&AISBN=9781554471317), which was released by Gaspereau Press (http://www.gaspereau.com) in 2013 and was short-listed for the 2014 bpNichol Chapbook Award (https://meetthepresses.wordpress.com/2014/10/10/bpnichol-chapbook-award-shortlist-and-doubling-of-award-purse/), Against the Hard Angle (http://www.ecwpress.com/book/against-hard-angle),  no cage contains a stare that well (ECW Press, 2005), (http://www.ecwpress.com/book/no-cage-contains-stare-well) a full-length volume of hockey poems, A Ruckus of Awkward Stacking (Insomniac Press, 2000), (http://insomniacpress.com/title.php?id=1-895837-86-3) which was nominated for the Gerald Lampert Memorial and ReLit awards, and how we play at it: a list (ECW, 2002), (http://www.ecwpress.com/book/how-we-play-it-list) as well as a number of limited edition chapbooks: a fist made and then un-made (Gaspereau, 2013), Against the Hard Angle (Greenboathouse, 2009), (http://www.greenboathouse.com/books/index.html#AtHA) and tracery & interplay (Frog Hollow, 2004) (http://www.froghollowpress.com/gallery/tracery.html). Robinson is currently at work on a new full-length collection.

Robinson’s poems have won a number of awards including the Petra Kenney International Poetry Prize, Grain Magazine’s Prose Poem Award, and The Malahat Review Long Poem Prize. He has also received the New Brunswick Foundation for the Arts Emerging Artist of the Year Award. 

Matt’s poems have also appeared in a number of anthologies, including The New Canon (http://www.vehiculepress.com/titles/398.html), Breathing Fire 2 (http://www.harbourpublishing.com/title/BreathingFire2), Coastlines: The Poetry of Atlantic Canada (http://www.quillandquire.com/reviews/review.cfm?review_id=2938) , Exact Fare Only 2, Mess: The Hospital Anthology (http://tightropebooks.com/mess-the-hospital-anthology/), and Landmarks: An Anthology of New Atlantic Canadian Poetry of the Land, (http://www.acornpresscanada.com/book/landmarks-anthology-new-atlantic-canadian-poetry-land)  and been featured in programs such as the Halifax Regional Municipality’s Art in Public Places initiative (his poem ‘grand parade, halifax’ is publically featured in Halifax’s Grand Parade Square) (http://www.thecoast.ca/ArtAttack/archives/2009/08/14/matt-robinsons-gets-poetic-in-grand-parade), as well as AFCOOP’s collaborative “A Certain Openness: the filming of poetry” project (http://afcoop.ca/programs-and-training/a-certain-openness-the-filming-of-poetry/), which lead to the creation of a cinepoem “The Grain Elevators”, which was featured at both the Halifax Independent Filmmakers’ Festival (http://www.hiff.ca/) and the Atlantic Film Festival (http://www.atlanticfilm.com/).