Guest Lectures

Tony Tremblay Photo

W.C. Desmond Pacey Lecture

Tony Tremblay, Professor of English and Canada Research Chair in New Brunswick Studies at St. Thomas University, will deliver a talk titled “Desmond Pacey at 100: Looking Back at the Legacy” on Wednesday, October 11, 2017, at 5:30pm. The lecture will take place in the Alfred G. Bailey Auditorium, Tilley Hall 102, UNB Fredericton Campus.

In this lecture on the 100th anniversary of the birth of pioneering Canadian literary critic Desmond Pacey, Professor Tony Tremblay examines Pacey’s contributions to Canadian literature, his work to position UNB as a hub of Canadian Studies, and his efforts to professionalize Canadian criticism, thus removing from it the biases of class, empire, and gentlemanly opinion.

The W.C Desmond Pacey Memorial Lecture is organized by the Faculty of Arts at UNB Fredericton and is sponsored by the UNB Associated Alumni.

 2017 Pacey Ad

Phil Buckner

W. Stewart MacNutt Memorial Lecture

The 2016-17 lecture was held at UNB Fredericton on Tuesday, November 22nd, 2016 at 5:30pm in the Alfred G. Bailey Auditorium, Tilley Hall room 102. “Beware the Canadian Wolf?: The Maritimes and Confederation” was delivered by Dr. Phillip Buckner, Senior Research Fellow from the Institute of Commonwealth Studies at the University of London.

In his presentation, Professor Buckner challenged the notion that confederation was forced on the Nova Scotia and New Brunswick governments.

Dr. Bucker holds a PhD from the University of London and taught history at UNB from 1968 until his retirement in 1999, when he was awarded the title of professor emeritus. He also founded Acadiensis: Journal of the History of the Atlantic Region as well as Acadiensis Press.

Hosted by the faculty of arts, the W. Stewart MacNutt Memorial Lecture honours the late historian, professor and humanitarian for his many contributions to UNB and to the development of Atlantic Canadian history as a field of study.

MacNutt Lecture 2016

L-R: Gregory Kealey, Bill Parenteau, Phillip Buckner, and Acting Dean Joanne Wright


List of Past Lecturers

W. Stewart MacNutt Memorial Lecturers W. C. Desmond Pacey Memorial Lecturers
2016-17 Phillip Buckner 2016-17 Cancelled
2015-16 Rebecca Dunham 2015-16 Smaro Kamboureli
2014-15 Ged Martin 2014-15 J.B. MacKinnon
2013-14 Sean Cadigan 2013-14 Leon Litvack
2012-13 Linda McQuaig 2012-13 Diane F. Halpern
2011-12 Herb Wyile 2011-12 Tony Penikett
2010-11 Sylvia Hamilton 2010-11 Michael Ruse
2009-10 Hermémégilde Chiasson 2009-10 Noah Augustine
2008-09 Suzanne Morton 2008-09 Kenneth C. Dewar
2007-08 Robert Young 2007-08 Charles Lemert
2006-07 James K. Hiller 2006-07 Leah Bradshaw
2005-06 Anthony T. Charles 2005-06 Lea Stirling
2004-05 George Elliott Clarke 2004-05 Robert Anderson
2003-04 James W. St. G. Walker 2003-04 Victoria de Grazia
2002-03 John G. Reid 2002-03 Vincent Mosco
2001-02 Ian H. Stewart 2001-02 Janet S. Hyde
2000-01 M.A. Priscilla Renouf 2000-01 Robert Evans
1999-00 Peter Sinclair 1999-00 Olive Dickason
1998-99 Colin D. Howell 1998-99 John Kearney
1997-98 T.W. Acheson 1997-98 David Bentley
1996-97 Ian McKay 1996-97 Alexander McKay
1995-96 James Tuck 1995-96 William Rodman
1994-95 Eric W. Sager 1994-95 E. Jane Ursel
1993-94 Rosemary Ommer 1993-94 John Helliwell
1992-93 Gwendolyn Davies 1992-93 Leslie Armour
1991-92 Peter Neary 1991-92 Henry T. Lewis
1990-91 P.B. Waite 1990-91 Robert J. Brym
1989-90 Margaret Conrad 1989-90 Thomas S. W. Lewis
1988-89 Robert H. Babcock 1988-89 Richard G. Lipsey
1986-87 George A. Rawlyk 1987-88 Charles C. Taylor
1985-86 Gregory Story 1985-86 Brenda Milner
1984-85 Naomi Griffiths 1984-85 Dorothy Smith
1983-84 Judith Fingard 1983-84 H.H. Stern
1982-83 Alex Colville 1982-83 Kurt H. Wolff
1981-82 John M. Bumsted 1981-82 Michael S. Gazzaniga
1980-81 David Alexander 1980-81 Northrop Frye
Updated September 25, 2017